fun / television / why I love

Why I Love; Shows about Food

Besides the obvious, I just love food, period, I find myself once again sucked into the world of televised cooking. Now I am not one to watch cooking tutorials or info sessions  on the different kinds of cheeses, but give me a good competition like Top Chef or Cupcake Wars and I am in heaven. And while I may have absolutely no interest in sauces I have to suck out of a shrimp’s head, like one contestant did in this week’s secret ingredient challenge on The Next Iron Chef, I do get my own enjoyment out of the judge’s pleasure in eating it. And while I may never cook a quail egg or pair chestnuts and chocolate in a dessert, it’s cool to know that there are people out there who are.

My current favorite food competition show: The Next Iron Chef:Redemption

Favorite show about sweets: Sweet Genius

Recent Recipe I want to try: Brooke’s apple pie with cheese, Top Chef

Who I want cooking for me: Just about anyone on Top Chef, Cupcake Wars, Chopped, or any Food Network show really

2 thoughts on “Why I Love; Shows about Food

  1. While I have to say I loathe Cupcake Wars (but sadly get sucked in sometimes), Chopped, Iron Chef American and most recently The Next Iron Chef: Redemption are my favorite competition cooking shows.

    But what about the survey shows?! Competition isn’t all where it’s at. I love Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives almost more than the others because it highlights real local food joints making awesome, unique stuff. My mouth waters every single time.

    And oh, No Reservations, how perfect you are. Travel + food + culture = heaven.

Leave a Reply

